My name is Alessandro Degasperi, but my friends call me “Dega”. I was born in Trento, Italy, November 23, 1980 and I live in Predazzo, a small town in the beautiful Val di Fiemme, with my wife, Federica, (former triathlete and my physical therapist) and our son Luca, who is Daddy’s biggest fan! Growing up in Val di Fiemme, where they are known for their winter sports, I was able to start triathlon at the young age of 15 and have been competing ever since.

          My very first official season in the “triple” goes back to 1996, having had a beautiful and exciting victory, by winning the Italian title in the junior class and representing the team of the Dolomitica Nuoto (coached by my current trainer Alberto Bucci). From 1996 to 2006, I joined the Italian national team, participating in European and world championships, focused on Olympic distances. 2005 was as a very special year, winning my first ever European Winter Triathlon Championship, followed by the Italian edition of XTERRA at Villacidro (Cagliari). In 2007 I decided to begin participating in long distance “no draft” races, which was a good choice for me, athletically, after healing from an injury earlier that year. I had immediate success with the Ironman 70.3 European Championships (2007-2008 and 2013), won the 2012 Ironman 70.3 Zell am See (Salzburg) and placed 2nd at the Ironman 70.3 in Italy. In 2014 I made my debut in long distance with 5th place at the Ironman European Championships in Frankfurt. In 2014, I sustained a serious injury at Ironman Zell am See. Shortly after, I won my first victory in 2015 at Ironman Lanzarote, it was the most challenging Ironman competition for me after the injury, but real personal victory! 2015 was a great year for me. After the victory in Lanzarote, I obtained 3rd place at Ironman Zurich and Ironman Mallorca with two good marathons (under 2 hr. 50 min.). Furthermore, I won the first edition of Challenge Forte Village. Later, In 2016, I obtained my first qualification at Ironman World Championships taking 20th place. In 2017 I qualified again at 20th place. this was probably one of my most important triathlon seasons with three 2nd places at Ironman Lanzarote, Ironman France and Ironman 70.3 in Edinburgh.

Currently training for: IM 70.3 Taiwan - IM South Africa - IM Lanzarote

Hometown: Panchià (Val di Fiemme, Trentino)
Current City: Predazzo (Val di Fiemme, Trentino)
Favorite Race: Ironman Lanzarote
Hobbies: Windsurfing
Favorite Athlete: Roger Federer
Favorite Food: Pistachio Ice Cream
Favorite Destination: Hawaii
What are you passionate about and why?: Technology and bike because both have in common the continuous evolution and everyday is a new day to discover something new.  
Favorite film or concert: Point Break

Why do you RYD?:  “I RYD because I believe in  sacrifice, dedication and happiness. Together these are the three strongest points that have shaped my career of more than 20 years.”

-Alessandro Degasperi




Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information